My Dev Retro 2022

My Dev Retro 2022

Hi, my name is emmanuel uzoezie, I am a front-end developer, moving my journey toward becoming a full-stack developer. my 2022 journey started with needing to gain more knowledge on ReactJS. I was so curious beginning of the year to know one of the most popular JavaScript frameworks. so I started my journey by joining a community called papaReact. sonny sangha and his co-worker did a great job with a lot of coaching and lessons on how to improve as a developer.

I learn so much in the community that I want to continue fo a year but life hit me on a different part. 3 months later I was having some financial issues I was not able to continue with the community. so I think of what next to do. so I went back to YouTube to watch about 3 video tutorials and code along. after that, I decided to build a project on my own to level up my skills.

my first project was building a cryptocurrency tracker. where you can see the price and more information about different types of cryptocurrencies. I learn a lot of JavaScript syntax while building the project and how to find solutions using Google. to cut the story short I decided to recreate my portfolio with the knowledge am having but with React framework called NextJS. after building the portfolio. I like some features in NextJS, most especially the server-side rendering. so decide to also recreate the crypto tracker with NextJS. and also learn how to use Redux for state management, firebase for storing data and authentication, and some other framework to allow get some work done faster during that period of recreating the project. after creating some other project I meet a friend on Twitter. Collaborating with other developers in building a project is something I always want to do. after a few discussions. we decide to create some projects together. he was a backend developer while I was a frontend developer. we grow up our skills by reading each other's code. I found out that one of the best to grow as a developer is by reading other developers' code. after a few projects, we built together I decide to start my backend developer journey. I ask him for some guides and read about what the backend is all about and where to start. so I decided to start with nodeJS. also learn some backend frameworks like express, MongoDB for storing data, passport for login authentication, mongoose for access to MongoDB, and some other frameworks. to become good with what have been learning a project. currently working on it. using my frontend and backend knowledge. There’s something I enjoy doing as a developer this year is writing. have written some articles here and some threads on Twitter @hey_jonuel but currently having issues accessing my account. have given some reports to the Twitter admin. been waiting for a reply for almost 2 weeks now. since I haven’t gotten a reply from them, so I decided to create another Twitter account @emma_uzoezie. Writing grows your knowledge and fills in the gap of what you don’t know. writing is a skill I want to develop more in 2023 because it grows your knowledge and helps you connect with your audience and make you learn so much about yourself. you can check out these links, to see some projects that have been done so far www.emmanueluzoezie.dev